Robert Rauchenburg

Rauchenburg, is an artist I discovered on my first university project and I was quite taken with his amazing choice of colour in his work whilst printmaking. His inspiration was the towns junk that was thrown in bins. He would spend most of his time looking for things in bins around cities; collecting things that he thought could create a strange or good texture on his next piece of work.
This is one of his paintings. It is very vague but to me at a distance squinting your eyes whilst looking at this gave me the image of a sunset by the sea at an exotic or holiday destination. I love this burst burning colours that he has chosen.

This is a lovely example of colour in one of his prints.

Leave a Reply

